Downtown Development Authority

Show Your Love for Lyon Image - Copy   
#Love4Lyon
Click on this Link to Learn More
FB logo

This year has truly been a challenge for small business owners affected by Coronavirus pandemic.  The Stay-At-Home order and slow reopening of businesses has presented unique and challenging obstacles and yet, the amazing, dedicated, creative and determined entrepreneurs in our Lyon community had stepped up to provide products and services in the only way they know how, through love for their community.  And in turn, our community has stepped up to support these hard-working business owners. 

Sign Image

Mission Statement

The Mission of the Lyon Township DDA is to assist public and private development efforts; to stimulate residential commercial and industrial growth and create a vibrant community where people live, work, and play.

2021 Downtown Development Authority Meeting Schedule
Meetings begin at 7:00 P.M.   Click on this link to view agendas and meeting packets. 
Tuesday, January 12, 2021
Tuesday, February 9, 2021
Tuesday, March 9, 2021
Tuesday, April 13, 2021
Tuesday, May 11, 2021
Tuesday, June 8, 2021
Tuesday, July 13, 2021
Tuesday, August 10, 2021
Tuesday, September 14, 2021
Wednesday, October 13, 2021*
Tuesday, November 9, 2021
Tuesday, December 14, 2021
*Schedule Change Due to Holiday

Board of Directors
In accordance with Public Act 197 of 1975 (i.e. The DDA Act), as amended, the Lyon Downtown Development Authority (DDA) was established in 1998 and  is governed by a 9 member board, of which a majority must have an interest in property located in the Downtown Development District, and which one member must be a resident of the district. Each member is appointed by the Township Supervisor, with the support of the Township Board, to staggered four-year terms.  As of January 1, 2019,  Public Act 197 of 1975 has been recodified to Public Act 57 of 2018. 

The Lyon DDA Board is made up of the following dedicated volunteers:

TroyPowe
Troy Powe
Chairperson
Wonder Jump, Inc

Mark Szerlag
Mark Szerlag
Vice-Chairperson
Thomas Duke

RuffinP HS
Dr. Paula Ruffin
Secretary
New Hudson Chiropractic andWellness Center

JohnDolan(1)John Dolan
Township Supervisor

JasonEBoard Member
Jason Egan

Rohrscheib Sons Caissons Inc

TimMinerBoard Member
Tim Miner
Miner's Barbershop 

Adorno(1)Board Member
Adorno Piccinini

Walbridge

Head & Shoulder Photo
Board Member
Karissa Canfield 
Biggby Coffee

HS Generic
OPEN POSITION


DDA Board Email Contact List

Troy Powe Chair tpowe@lyontwp.org
Mark Szerlag Vice Chair mszerlag@lyontwp.org
Dr. Paula Ruffin Secretary pruffin@lyontwp.org
John Dolan Supervisor jdolan@lyontwp.org
Karissa Canfield Board Member kcanfield@lyontwp.org
Jason Egan Board Member jegan@lyontwp.org
Tim Miner Board Member tminer@lyontwp.org
Adorno Piccinini Board Member apiccinini@lyontwp.org
Open Position Board Member  

 
Purpose of the Lyon Downtown Development Authority
The Lyon Downtown Development Authority was created to reverse the pattern of deterioration in New Hudson, the Township's main downtown business district, and to plan for and implement certain public improvements that are considered necessary for future economic growth in New Hudson and along Grand River Avenue, the main thoroughfare through New Hudson.

Lyon DDA District Boundaries
A map showing the boundaries of the Lyon DDA District can be viewed here.

Committees
The Lyon DDA has established four committees: Organization, Design, Economic Restructuring, and Promotion, based loosely on the National Trust for Historic Preservation Main Street Four-Point Approach.  These committees are utilized for the purpose of advising staff and reviewing specific projects.  Committees meet on an "as needed" basis.

Meetings
The Lyon DDA generally meets the second Tuesday of the month at 7:00 p.m. in the Township Hall.  All meetings are open to the public.  Meeting dates can be found on the township calendar.  Agendas and meeting minutes may be viewed here.