Two school districts serve Lyon Township: South Lyon Community Schools and Northville Public Schools

Although most Lyon Township residents reside in the South Lyon Community School District, there is a small portion of the Township that falls within the boundaries of Northville Public Schools.   Lyon Township residents who reside in the Northville Public Schools District are assigned to Thornton Creek Elementary School, Hillside Middle School, and Northville High School.

South Lyon School District Boundary Map

Northville Public Schools District Boundary Map

South Lyon Community Schools covers an area of approximately 83 square miles with an estimated population base of approximately 45,500. The District contains areas of three counties (Oakland, Washtenaw & Livingston) and areas of 8 municipalities (City of South Lyon, Lyon Township, City of Novi, City of Wixom, Milford Township, Northfield Township, Salem Township, and Green Oak Township).

The District currently consists of 12 schools: two high schools (grades 9-12), two middle schools (grades 6-8), and eight elementary schools (grades K-5). In addition, the District has an Early Childhood Center, a technology/maintenance/ transportation facility and an administration building.

South Lyon Community Schools
345 S. Warren Street
South Lyon, MI 48178

High Schools
South Lyon High School
South Lyon East High School

Middle Schools
Centennial Middle School
Millennium Middle School  

Elementary Schools
Bartlett Elementary School
Brummer Elementary School
Dolsen Elementary School
Hardy Elementary School
Kent Lake Elementary School
Pearson Elementary School
Salem Elementary School
Sayre Elementary School